Be 100% You

Growing up is an inevitable concept. Some kids fantasize constantly about what their future selves will be like and are excited to get older. However, others just want to stay kids for as long as possible. Neither of these opinions are wrong but personally, I land somewhere in the middle of these two extremes.

I always had a tender curiosity about growing up but it was never a priority in my everyday routine. In my mind, the memory is blurred as to when I stopped being a kid and started maturing and focusing on more “adult” things. Suddenly life becomes less about playing pretend and more about managing the real world (whatever that is). 

I feel like the concept of wanting to stay a child forever comes from a fear of change. No matter who you are or how much you fight it, change is going to happen at some point in your life. It just is. But that doesn’t mean it has to change your personality or mindsets.

One of my favorite phrases is “You are uniquely you”-I have no idea who said it, I could have just made it up, but I think it’s a genius saying. No one is exactly the same as you and no one ever will be. Everyone thinks a bit differently and not one person will ever look, sing, talk or laugh exactly like you. (Which is pretty amazing!)

As I’ve grown up, I’ve found that knowing myself and who I am is such a cool experience. I am constantly confounded by new things I figure out about myself, weather I unlock the reason why something has always irritated me or realize a new piece of my personality.

Growing up doesn’t mean you are completely changing who you are, it just means you’re adding new traits to the person you’ve already become. No ones life is a straight path and I don’t know if I will ever truly have myself figured out . . . and that okay.

One thing I do know for sure is that, looking back, I find pieces of my 7 year old self within the personality of my now 17 year old self. You are 100% uniquely you and no one gets to decide who you become but yourself.


This post is entirely my own personal, unfiltered opinion. In this corner of the internet I talk about what’s been on my mind and hopefully give you a new perspective on things you may not have thought about. I hope this wasn’t too ramble-y and do let me know in the comments if you like posts like this! This was inspired by a 3+ hour life talk I had with my sister and to be honest it was very therapeutic.

Thank you so much for the support this little blog has already been getting! I never know how to stop writing so BYE!

xxx

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Well said! I do sometimes love ramble-y blogs as well! 🙂
    https://relaxedreading.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

