I’m Undecided and Out of Control

If I had a quarter for every time my parents told me to cherish my time in high school, I would be able to do at least 50 loads of laundry when I’m shipped off to college.

College has been something that has been on my mind a lot lately. I’m getting ready to go into my senior year of high school and I still have no idea what I want to do in the future.

Whenever the topic of “What schools are you interested in?” or “What do you want to major in?” come up, I’m usually not to keen on the subject. It’s not that I don’t want to go to college-I do. It’s more about feeling trapped because I have no idea what career I’ll end up with.

I’m nervous that I will get stuck doing something I’ll regret. Countless people say that it’s okay to be undecided going into college and that no one really has it figured out. But that’s the problem. It’s not okay for me to be undecided. I feel out of control and nervous knowing that I have so many passions but don’t know if any of them would make viable careers.

I have always loved English and literature but my passions reach so much further then that. My brain gets jumbled with the “what if’s” and I push these thoughts to the back burner as opposed to dealing with them head on.

My unrealistic goals are to open a bakery or get paid to continue blogging but realistically, I toy with the idea of just majoring in business and figuring it out later. I still don’t know, but by typing this all out it really helped me prioritize where I’m at right now.

Sorry this was a bit of a downer but I want to be as open and honest as possible here. Let me know if you guys can relate at all to how I’m feeling and any advice is certainly appreciated!

 

xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

