Hot Caramel Apple Cider

Every year when I was a kid, my parents would take me and my siblings to the annual Fall Festival just outside our tiny town. It was held on a 40 acre lot by a Christian Brotherhood our good friend Mr. Sacarski belonged to. A lot of families were always invited and patchwork picnic blankets decorated the open green space.

I remember the sights and smells like it was yesterday. Bright orange, yellow and red leaves dotted the grass as the smell of bonfires and warm glazed donuts wafted through the air.

I would run through the freshly fallen leaves with my sister, pick pumpkins with my dad and nap on the plush blankets with my mom when I got worn down.

All of these memories are so vivid, but the one thing that always takes me back to this time in my life is the smell of warm apple cider. On a crisp autumn day a giant mug of cider in my tiny hands was just what I needed to keep me going- especially because I was an apple juice-aholic back then (trust me- I have the cavities to prove it!)

As I’ve gotten older, it isn’t truly fall until I’ve had a big old mug of warm cider! This recipe was inspired by that old Fall Festival and it has so many wonderful memories associated with it!  To make this-

You Will Need…

4 to 8 Cups of Apple Cider

1/4 Cup of Caramel Topping

1/4 Cup of Brown Sugar

Whip Cream (optional)

A pinch of Cinnamon (optional)

In a medium sized saucepan, pour in your apple cider and adjust your heat settings to medium high.

Next- add in your brown sugar and caramel topping and stir constantly until the caramel and sugar are dissolved.

Once the mixture begins to simmer your cider is ready to serve! To make serving easier, you can transfer the cider into a liquid measuring cup or use a ladle to spoon it into mugs.

cookiesnowhiptop

I decided to top my drinks with some whip cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon! You can even add cinnamon straight into the cider along with any other spices to create a spiced version of this recipe! It’s such a simple drink that you can add a little less or more of whatever you want!

cookiesnwhipcloseupwhip

If you couldn’t already tell I am super pumped for fall this year! With cozy jackets, warm drinks and the orange and purple fairy lights I hung around my room, I am prepared for the cold weather to stay!

Let me know what other autumn inspired posts you guys want to see and thank you so much for the continued support!

 

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

